Paris, 22 May 2014


A Memorandum of Understanding in the Field of Regulation of Nuclear and Radiation Safety has been signed by the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the National Nuclear Safety Administration (NNSA) of China, strengthening co-operation between both parties.

One of the goals of the co-operation will be to share experience on the effective regulation and oversight of nuclear safety, as well as best practices in licensing and oversight of civil nuclear facilities. The agreement also foresees co-operation on nuclear safety research, the development of international legal frameworks and the performance of analyses which are essential for the safe and environmentally friendly use of nuclear energy.

The memorandum of understanding between the NEA and the NNSA represents the culmination of several years of growing collaboration between China and the Agency, and complements the Joint Declaration on Co‑operation which was signed by the NEA and the China Atomic Energy Authority (CAEA) in 2013.

"The MOU will further strengthen co-operation between the nuclear regulatory authorities of NEA member countries and the NNSA, as well as general efforts to continue enhancing nuclear safety at the global level," said NEA Acting Director-General Thierry Dujardin, adding that "it will also help deepen our respective knowledge and understanding of nuclear and radiation safety, not only as regards nuclear reactor safety, but also in the areas of radiological protection and radioactive waste management."

The NNSA establishes the principles, policies and regulations in China related to the safe use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. Its responsibilities include licensing civilian use of nuclear materials and nuclear facilities, reviewing the safety performance of nuclear energy facilities, organising research on nuclear safety, examining the status of emergency planning and preparedness, and providing related public information.

China is a major player in the nuclear energy field with 19 operational nuclear power reactors and a further 29 under construction. Additional units are planned in line with the country's decision to increase its reliance on nuclear energy.

Related links

OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)
National Nuclear Safety Administration (NNSA) of China, in Chinese

Press contact:

Write to: 
Follow us: @OECD_NEA

NEA membership consists of 33 countries. The mission of the NEA is to assist its member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co‑operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally sound and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. It strives to provide authoritative assessments and to forge common understandings on key issues as input to government decisions on nuclear energy policy and to broader OECD analyses in areas such as energy and the sustainable development of low‑carbon economies.