NEA Mandates and Structures

Expert Group on Fuel Recycling Chemistry

Chair(s): Robin J. TAYLOR, United Kingdom
Secretary:  Stéphanie CORNET
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 June 2012
End of mandate:30 June 2019

Mandate (Document reference):


Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document [NEA/SEN/NSC/WPFC(2018)1]

Objectives and scope

Under the guidance of the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC) and the mandate of the Working Party on Scientific Issues of the Fuel Cycle (WPFC), the Expert Group on Fuel Recycling Chemistry (EGFRC) will focus on the separation processes relevant to recycling technologies for spent nuclear fuel including waste treatment, recycling and reuse of spent fuel components but excluding long term (dry/wet) spent fuel storage technologies.

The expert group will perform technical assessments of separation processes in applications related to current and future nuclear fuel cycles and recommend collaborative international efforts to further processes development and deployment.

The expert group will provide scientific information to cover technical issues associated with:



The expert group will liaise closely with other NEA expert groups under the guidance and the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC) and the WPFC experts groups (EGAFCS, EGISM, EGIF) and the Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC) in order to ensure complementary programmes of work, provide advice and support where required and undertake joint work where appropriate.

The expert group will also work in co-operation with the IAEA Nuclear Fuel Cycle and Waste Technology Section, the Generation IV International Forum (GIF) and with different EU initiatives (essentially the Sustainable Nuclear Energy and Implementation of Geological Disposal Technology Platforms (SNE-TP and IGD-TP)) carried out through the European Union Framework Programme for Research and Innovation Horizon 2020