NEA Mandates and Structures

Expert Group on Advanced Fuel Cycle Scenarios

Chair(s): Brent DIXON, United States
Secretary:  Stéphanie CORNET
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 June 2010
End of mandate:30 June 2019

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document [NEA/SEN/NSC/WPFC(2018)1]


Under the guidance of the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC) and the mandate of the Working Party on Scientific Issues of the Fuel Cycle (WPFC), the expert group will study needs associated with the transition from current to future advanced nuclear fuel cycles. The objectives of this expert group are:


These issues are critical to implementing a sustainable nuclear energy infrastructure and this expert group will:



The expert group will liaise closely with other study groups (e.g. EC, IAEA, etc.) and other activities being carried out under NEA auspices, for example by the Nuclear Science Committee, the Radioactive Waste Management Committee, and the Nuclear Development Committee, in particular providing expertise, when necessary, on issues related to the integration of nuclear power in an energy mix.