NEA Mandates and Structures

Expert Group on Innovative Structural Materials

Chair(s): Fanny BALBAUD, France
Secretary:  Stéphanie CORNET
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 June 2008
End of mandate:30 June 2019

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document NEA/SEN/NSC/WPFC(2018)1

Objectives and scope

Under the guidance of the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC) and under the mandate of the Working Party on Scientific Issues of the Fuel Cycle (WPFC), the objective of the Expert Group on Innovative Structural Materials (EGISM) is to conduct joint and comparative studies to support the development, selection and characterisation of innovative structural materials that can be implemented in advanced nuclear fuel cycles, under extreme conditions such as high temperature, high dose rates and corrosive chemical environments and long service lifetimes.

The objectives of the expert group are:

Consistent with the above objectives, the scope of the expert group includes:

State-of-the-art assessment of specific areas to be considered as priority areas of research

Experimental protocols and standards and share of available experimental installations:

Common experimental database :


The expert group will liaise closely with other NEA working groups, especially the expert group on Liquid Metal Technology (EGLM), the Expert Group on Fuel Recycling Chemistry (EGFRC), and those operating under the guidance of the Working Party of Multi-Scale Modelling for Fuels and Structural Materials for Nuclear Systems (WPMM) in order to ensure the respective programmes of work are complementary, to provide advice and support where required and to undertake joint activities where appropriate.

The expert group will also work closely with other international organisations (IAEA and EU).