NEA Mandates and Structures

Expert Group on Innovative Fuels

Chair(s): Nathalie CHAUVIN, France
Secretary:  Stéphanie CORNET
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 June 2008
End of mandate:30 June 2019

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document [NEA/SEN/NSC/WPFC(2018)1]

Objectives and scope

Under the guidance of the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC) and the mandate of the Working Party on Scientific Issues of the Fuel Cycle (WPFC), the objective of the Expert Group on Innovative Fuels (EGIF) is to conduct joint and comparative studies to identify technical issues and support the development of innovative fuels that can be implemented in advanced nuclear fuel cycles.

The scope of the expert group covers the technical issues associated with the development of innovative fuels (oxide, metal, nitride and carbide fuels, and special mechanical forms) targeted for use in advanced fuel cycles and Gen IV systems. The fuel types of interest for EGIF are those foreseen for driver fuels (i.e., uranium or uranium-plutonium fuels) as well as fuels dedicated to minor actinides (MA) transmutation considered for advanced fuel cycles and Gen IV systems.

The following technical issues associated with innovative fuels development are covered by the expert group:



The expert group will liaise closely with other NEA working groups, especially the Expert Group  on Reactor Fuel Performance of the WPRS, the Working Party on Multi-scale Modelling of Fuels and Structural Materials for Nuclear Systems (WPMM), the Expert Group on Accident-Tolerant Fuels and the Expert Group on Integral Experiments for Minor Actinides Management in order to ensure the respective work programmes are complementary, to provide advice and support where required and to undertake joint work where appropriate.